Header Bild

Chair of Mechanics

Mechanics IB

Content:

Part 1: Continuation of Mechanics IA – Mechanics of Materials: Summary of terminology – stresses and strains, strain energy, energy principles, Castigliano’s method, shear stresses due to shear forces in beams, shear center, torsion of beams with arbitrary cross sections.

Part 2: Fundamentals of Dynamics: Kinematics of a point, kinematics of rigid bodies, Newton’s laws, moments of inertia, kinetic principles, impulse and momentum, vibrations.

Information regarding the general organization of the "Mechanics IB" exam:

The exam starts at 8:00 c.t. or 9:00 c.t. with a multiple choice part in a computer lab. The exact examination site will be announced via the seating plan at afternoon before the exam. The plan can be accessed on the institute homepage, section "student corner" via the menu option NEWS. The chosen PC lab will be announced accordingly. Normally, Hilbert Raum (second floor, main building) is used for this purpose. The electronic part of the exam consists out of 12 questions for which exactly 70 minutes are provided. Before the exam officially starts a short introduction to the examination site and the use of the computer interface will be provided. For the further processing concept paper will be provided. Only writing utensils and a calculator approbated by the ÖH are allowed on the examination site.

After the digital part follows the traditional part. The traditional part is a written exam consisting of two examples.  The location of the second part will be announced one day before the exam at afternoon (see seating plan via NEWS), mostly the Zeichensaal for Markscheidekunde is used as an examination site. For both parts of the exam, classical as well as the multiple choice part, a maximum of 20 points can be acquired. The achieved points of each part are added and result in a complete number of points which leads to the corresponding mark.

Preparation for committee observed exams:

For candidates of an observed exam, who require special care and assistance, our department provides an additional revision course as well as a pre-examination. These special units include exam relevant and similar exercises, which will be discussed after some preparation time. We advise students to contact Dr. Zickler about further assistance. The pre-examination will be held a few days before the regular exam. The evaluation of the pre-examination solely functions as a recommendation.

Header Bild

Institut für Mechanik

Mechanik IB

Inhalt:

1.Teil: Weiterführende Kapitel der Festigkeitslehre als Fortsetzung der Mechanik IA: Wiederholung des Spannungs- und Verzerrungsbegriffs, Verzerrungs- und Ergänzungsenergie, Energiemethoden, Satz von Castigliano, Schubspannungen zufolge Querkraft, Schubmittelpunkt, Torsion von Stäben mit beliebigem Profil.

2.Teil: Grundbegriffe der Dynamik: Kinematik des Massepunkts, Kinematik starrer Körper, Newtonschen Gesetze, Massenträgheitsmoment, Kinetische Grundgleichungen, Schwerpunktsatz, Drallsatz, Schwingungen.

Informationen zum Ablauf der Prüfung aus "Mechanik IB":

Die Prüfung beginnt um 08:00 oder 09:00 Uhr mit einem Multiple Choice Teil am Computer. Die genaue Uhrzeit ist am Nachmittag vor der Prüfung dem Sitzplan zu entnehmen - dieser befindet sich dann auf unserer Homepage im Studentenbereich unter dem Menüpunkt NEWS. Der PC Raum wird rechtzeitig bekanntgegeben, normalerweise handelt es sich um den Hilbert Raum (2. Stock, Hauptgebäude). Der elektronische Prüfungsteil besteht dabei aus 12 Fragen, für die genau 70 min. zur Verfügung stehen. Vor dem Start der eigentlichen Prüfung erfolgt eine kurze Einweisung in die Benutzung der Benutzeroberfläche. Für die Bearbeitung steht Konzeptpapier zur Verfügung, ansonsten werden nur Schreibgerät und ein von der ÖH approbierter Taschenrechner benötigt.

Danach folgt die Fortsetzung der Prüfung mit einem traditionellen schriftlichen Teil, bestehend aus 2 Beispielen. Der Ort des 2. Teils wird jeweils am Nachmittag vor der Prüfung bekanntgegeben (siehe Sitzplan unter NEWS), üblicherweise ist es der Zeichensaal für Markscheidekunde. Bei beiden Teilen ("klassischer Teil" und "Multiple Choice Teil") können jeweils max. 20 Punkte erreicht werden. Die erreichten Punkte werden zusammenaddiert und ergeben dann die Gesamtpunkteanzahl.

Vorbereitung für die kommissionelle Prüfung:

Wir bieten für kommissionelle Prüfungskandidaten eine Vorprüfung an. Darin erhalten Sie prüfungsähnliche Beispiele, welche Sie unter Aufsicht selbstständig bearbeiten und die danach mit Ihnen durchbesprochen werden. Wir empfehlen, diesbezüglich mit Dr. Zickler in Kontakt zu treten. Die Vorprüfung findet ein paar Tage vor der eigentlichen Prüfung statt. Die Beurteilung dieser Vorprüfung dient als Empfehlung.